TOP
Exploring Tourism in Canada
Canada
icon Worldwideicon
Places to Visit Details

Fredericton

Fredericton, Canada
Tags : Fredericton

Garrison District

From 1784 until 1869 a British garrison was stationed on this two-block tract between Queen Street and the river. Many of the structures in the Garrison District date to that time, and it's now a hub for museums and festivals in the city. Historic walking tours leave from the former military compound in summer. The Fredericton Region Museum is housed in an extension to the officers' quarters and offers a strong overview of area history. Costumed interpreters are often on-site, and a changing of the guard ceremony is a popular attraction.

Other organizations within the Garrison District include the NB Sports Hall of Fame and New Brunswick College of Craft and Design, where visitors can watch artisans at work.

 

 

Legislative Assembly Building

The present Legislative Assembly Building has been the seat and symbol of democracy since 1882, when it replaced a building that had been demolished by fire two years earlier. The high conference chamber is beautiful; here visitors can admire portraits of King George III and Queen Charlotte by the famous artist Joshua Reynolds.

In the parliamentary library, there's a complete set of copperplate engravings from the famous "Birds of America" by the Haitian-born American artist John James Audubon (1785-1851).

 

 

Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral in Fredericton, an Anglican diocesan church, is a remarkable and graceul building. It was built in the Neo-Gothic style in the middle of the 19th century. The stained glass and the wooden interior are true works of art. The visitor's attention is also drawn to the gravestone of the first Anglican bishop of Fredericton, constructed in a form not usually found in North America. The cathedral hosts a pleasant summer recital series, which brings a mix of genres (from opera to tango) to the church.

 

 

St. John River

The ambling St. John River bisects the city and is a major source of recreation, both on and off the water. Parks and trails line the banks of the St. John, and pleasure boats and watercraft make use of the wide, slow river. The Bill Thorpe Walking Bridge, which spans the banks near downtown, is a converted railway bridge that's only open to walkers and bicycles. It is part of both the provincial and Trans-Canada trail systems. Outside town, small ferries cross the river to connect with scenic, rural roads (such as Route 105) through farms and marshlands.

 

Fredericton City Hall

Martin Cathrae

Completed in 1876, Fredericton City Hall is a three-storey brick structure constructed in a slightly imposing, Second Empire style. It once housed a city market, police station, and jail along with other civic services. Today, it's the tourist information center that's most related to visitors.

 

Mactaquac Provincial Park

The power-generating Mactaquac Dam changed the landscape of this area very much, including this 1,300-acre provincial park with its campground, 18-hole golf course, and freshwater beaches. Kings Landing Historical Settlement, about 14 kilometers upstream from the dam, is another result of the raised river levels. When the dam was built, heritage buildings in the flooded area were moved to Prince William. Costumed interpreters now recreate a 19th-century settlement through the living history museum.

 

 

Playhouse

Located near the legislature, the Playhouse in Fredericton owes its existence to the town's great patron: Lord Beaverbrook. He also financed the first theatrical troupe in the province. The Playhouse provides a variety of theater, dance, and music performances each year. It's a regular stop for touring acts, and performers are a mix of local talent, Canadian favorites, and international stars.

 

 

University of New Brunswick

The University of New Brunswick was built in 1785, making it the third oldest in Canada. It stands on a hill southwest of the St. John River, and there are elegant views from the campus. Collections at the library and the provincial archives include a number of first editions donated by Lord Beaverbrook, including works by V. Bennett, Charles Dickens, and H.G. Wells.

 

Check out more Places to Visit